Various Poker Tournaments

Charles Lamb once defined poker as a card war, disguised from the sport. IDN online poker  is probably the most competitive and sparking card game of our time. It has a history, a gift and a future. Be it in a casino or at home, you will find players playing poker along with the buzz that comes with the game. It can be played in live casinos, at home or even on the internet as well.

The basics of poker including betting on certain card combinations the game has many variants. It starts from the player on the right side and continues to the far left player. Now the rest of the players have to match the maximum bet or fold as simple as that. The player who matches the bet can increase that bet depending on him whether he wants to or not.

The striking feature associated with poker is that it has become a casino game in which people are looking for the future. Yes, nowadays we use the term “professional poker players” and they make big money out of the game. Players like Joe Cada, Phil Hellmuth, Phil Ivey, Daniel Nagerau, Tom Durrr, Doyle Brunsun, Chris Furgursun can be seen participating in various poker tournaments on ESPN and other sports channels. These tournaments feature big money prizes and are held by the best casinos in the world. These poker tournaments are some very serious events with some real serious money.

Poker tournament venues are different, being land based casinos.

Turnamen top poker:

World Series of Poker: This poker tournament was first played in Las Vegas (Nevada) in the 1970’s. The WSOP is the brainchild of Jack Binion and Jeffrey Pollack. Mainly the three games played at the WSOP are Texas Hold’em (limit/no limit), Omaha and Razz. Being a very prestigious poker tournament, it has witnessed some glorious moments in poker history. Last year saw, Joe Cada, age 21 won a whopping $8.5 billion. It can be open or invitation and most of the time it’s holding me Las Vegas.

Although some online poker companies allow their players the opportunity to qualify for it. A World Series of Poker bracelet is awarded to the winner of the event. The total prize money of this tournament is a big one which will grow as the number of players entering the tournament increases. This WSOP year will run from May 27 – July 17 (2010).
The winners of the WSOP over the past five years are:

Joe Cada in 2009
Peter Eastgate in 2008
Jerry Yang in 2007
Jamie Gold in 2006
Joe Hachem in 2005

World Poker Tour: world poker tour involves the world’s best professional poker players competing against each other for the main place. The game played in the WPT is Texas Hold’em but Omaha (hi/lo) and 7 stud cards have seen the big player turnouts of the last years. The way it differs from other tournaments is that it is a series of poker tournaments rather than a single tournament. WPT started in the United States in 2002 and is based on the WPT points system which is offered to the players with the winner getting the highest 1000 Points and 700 Points for the runner up. Faraz Jaka was the player of the year for the 2009-2010 season.

Steven Lipscomb is WPO’s current commissioner. The winners from the last five seasons include:

Howard Lederer
Erick Lindgren
Daniel Negreanu
Gavin Smith
JC Tran

European Poker Tour: This is the main reason behind the popularity of Texas Hold’em poker. EPT is owned by and televised by Sunset+wine.. It is very similar to WPT as it also has championship games like WPT. Players from the United States have won maximum times in this event followed by England and Germany. In the European poker tour 8 players make up the final table while in WPT the number of players that make up the table is 6. The top 5 prizes from the EPT were won by the following players:

Glen Chorny
Pieter de Korver
Poorya Nazari
Gavin Griffin
Nicolas Chouity